Recipe: Pumpkin Butter

Tried making my first pumpkin butter today or as the American’s would say, Squash butter. It’s a bit of a disappointment but maybe because I opted to use Maple Syrup instead of sugar. The taste of the maple syrup over powers the pumpkin. I only opted for 1/4 cup as opposed to the proposed 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Guess it teaches you sometime you need to stick to the recipe. 😛 What I did learn is that it is sOOOOO easy to make your own fresh pumpkin mash.

I used this recipe from:- http://ohsheglows.com/2010/10/05/happy-thanksgiving-homemade-pumpkin-butter/

Final pumpkin butter in Mason Jar

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tip:

  1. Roast pumpkin in the oven with the skin on. This crap out with a spoon.
  2. Stir frequently to prevent burning.

Conclusion:

Not sure if I’ll make this version of the pumpkin butter again. Even though I didn’t follow the recipe EXACTLY I think there is something missing. Do you have a version of pumpkin butter you have tried and tested? If so I would love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

