Paleo Style Vietnamese Chicken Curry

Updated 25th Nov: I realised that my instructions below are a little unorganised so I have created a page and I added all you need to know there. Click here.

I’m terrible at following recipes. I generally look at a recipes just to give me ideas.  Then I start cooking and decide to add/remove ingredients along the way.  As I don’t cook too regularly the recipe only gives me guidance in the order of things 😛

My mum always make traditional Vietnamese Curry however as she was not contactable yesterday, I found this from blogger 3 hungry tummies. I replaced the noodles/baguette with zucchini spaghetti, used coconut cream instead of milk (a tip from my mum as she says it tastes better), reduced the quantity of the coconut cream to 1 can and added more vegetables like Thai eggplants and carrots. (Next time I’ll remember to take some photo on what I Thai eggplant look like. It’s small and oval shaped). The quantity is really up to you. I love vegetables.

As I am terrible at following recipes, I am also terrible at writing them. Hopefully this gives you enough ideas for your Paleo version. For those who are not that familiar with Vietnamese curry, Vietnamese curry is not so thick. More watery and generally less coconut and sugar compared to it’s cousin curries like the Malaysian or Thai curries. Note watery does not mean tasteless. In actually fact, it’s my favourite curry over all of them.

For the coconut, I used Ayam’s organic light coconut cream. Please note that although Paleo says coconut is good for you, I doubt very much this version is, as it is not cold press and has no mention on whether it contains hydrogenated fat. My theory? Everything in balance. Plus I don’t drink my soup. It just complements for flavour. I know many people do. My brother-in-law drinks up his laksa soup :S But if you are only have this once a month I suppose that is ok 😛

Organic Light Ayam Coconut Cream

The pot of curry – Check the 3 hungry tummies blog for step by step instructions and the full ingredient list.

Vietnamese Chicken Curry

The high level milestones are:

  1. Brown chicken with curry powder, chilli flakes, onion and garlic
  2. Add stock and rest of ingredients and simmer for 10min.
  3. Add coconut cream and simmer for 15min
  4. Add the vegetables and simmer until soft.

A little secret. This is the first time I’ve made it. However if I can say myself, it was quite good and was so simple to make. Oh…. I almost forgot. The key ingredient as recommended by my mum. Buy this brand of curry powder from the Asian shops.

Madras Curry Powder

Part 2 is to make the zucchini spaghetti

Julienne a Zucchini. No need to peel the skin. Then very quickly blanch with some salt. I have to say, this is  my first time trying zucchini spaghetti and I loved it. Almost like the real thing, only healthier.

Julienne Zucchini spaghetti

I used this Julienne.

The final product – Vietnamese Chicken Curry with Zucchini spaghetti

The finished Product

The Condiment

Finally but not least, my mum will always bruise some chilli and salt so it’s up to the individual to season as it’s tricky in such a large pot.

Another key ingredient before you start eating is to squeeze lemon over your curry. This is a family tradition. It’s great and refreshing! Give it a try.

Bruised Chilli with salt and lemon

4 thoughts on “Paleo Style Vietnamese Chicken Curry

Leave a Reply

