Porter’s milk paint

Went to Porter’s paint this weekend and bought myself some porter’s milk paint. For those who do not know. Porter’s milk paint is a traditional style of paint used for cabinetry. It’s provides an age/rustic look that allows wood grain and different textures/shades to shine through. This is exactly what I was looking for my newly installed bookshelves. More about the bookshelves in a separate post. For now, I want to give you my 2 cents worth while the experience is fresh in my head.

BTW for the milk paint newbie, milk paint comes in powder format. :O Yes, it comes in a 1kg organic looking material bag that requires you to mix it like pancake batter. I have yet to figure out what 1kg is equivalent to :S

Porter's milk paint in Corn Flour white

What did we learn?

  • Read the instructions on the Porter’s website not the “paper” that comes with the paint. The website pdf version has more details. We were disappointed that the staff did not advise that undercoating was necessarily.  Considering this is important I assumed she would of told me when I asked how to use the paint.
  • The instructions said, undercoating is only required if the timber is stained or have lots of knots. Ignore this. I would I highly recommend undercoating as colours show through milk paint. Painting is such a pain you would want to avoid having to do 3 coats at all cost.
  • As Porter’s closes on Sunday, we had to visit Bunnings for our undercoat. A friend previously recommended Zinsser. It was great. Wished I had listened to earlier. I’ve previously used Dulux and Taubman undercoats and would recommend Zinsser over these any day.

Zinsser Smart Prime Undercoat $79 at Bunnings

Milk Paint Pros:

  • Great texture and rustic look. You can see the wood grain even after 1 undercoat. Not sure how the paint achieves that.
  • Nice sweet smell like pancake. My boyfriend actually said it made his hand soft when washing the paint trays. Can this be my new facial? 😛

Milk Paint Cons:

  • Preparation just to get the paint ready is a pain (ie. the mixing and having to sieve the paint to ensure there are no lumps).
  • The paint is really thick and goowie. This makes it ULTRA hard to spread. I take back the previous comment. Tried mixing more water which makes the paint easier to paint. Having said this it is difficult to get the correct consistency and the paint does get thicker over time. It gets worst when you’ve been painting for 1 hour. I had to add water as it just got too thick. Using Milk Paint probably took 2-3x longer because of this nature. If you’ve experienced using Milk Paint, is this normal?

Conclusion:

Despite the pain of the preparation and painting, I would recommend using Milk paint as I love the rustic texture it creates. You can’t get the same effect using standard paint. I love a painted timber finish for it’s updated look however still like to see my wood grain and textures. Will post a picture once we’ve completed the job.

Click here
for more details on how to apply milk paint.

One thought on “Porter’s milk paint

  1. Pingback: My custom bookshelves – Part 3 (Finally done, well almost) | Pingheng 平衡

Leave a Reply

