Grinding a tree stump…..argh

When I bought my apartment there was a tree stump upon which the vendor had to remove prior to settlement. To cut the story short, my solicitor convinced me to accept the $800 to remove the tree stump (the original offer from the vendor was $600 but I refused thinking it was such a hassle). Should of stuck to my gut feel. I reckon my solicitor was just tired of going back and forward. Not the best outcome for me but a good one for her. Lesson learnt. Unless you have competition and REALLLLLLY want the place, DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT accept such an offer. It’s just a hassle costing you time and potentially more money. I’m sure being a vendor, you would not refuse to sell for this reason. The previous vendor’s excuse was that it’s a very personal thing how high or low you want the tree stump. I struggled to comprehend that but at the time just wanted to get it over and done with.

The tree stump was huge. Imagine an old eucalyptus tree measuring 1 meter in diameter with large spreading roots some of which some were lifting the pavement. The end result? The tree company I called had to remove some of the pavements to fully remove the roots. Now I need my boyfriend to attempt to jigsaw the pavement back together. What a pain in the butt.

Besides this, the whole experience I had with the tree company was not great. In this instance I will leave this company unnamed since they repented and returned to complete their job. The short story is, the job took longer than expected. Instead of 3-4 hours, it took approx. 8 hours for 2 men. The boss at headquarters then wanted me to pay more, even when he had inspected the stump, giving me a fix quote of $935. I had to threaten him with fair trading before he was willing to send the boys back to complete the job. Yes, they left with bits still sticking out and pretty much ignored my calls and emails for 1 week. In short, not pleasant and something that could of been avoided.

So what did I learn from this? Things to consider when obtaining a quote to grind a tree stump:

  1. Ensure that the company will remove the mulch. Trust me. I am glad I went with the more expensive quote to save the hassle of removing the mulch myself. Lost count of the number of barrels that went into their truck.
  2. Ensure the written quote specifies the depth that the stump would be grounded back (eg. 300mm below ground level). You can then use this to dispute any unsatisfactory job.
  3. Insist they come to view the stump before providing the quote. In this way, there is no excuse on the price changing.
  4. Insure they are licensed and have indemnity insurance etc.
  5. Be specific. If you have roots, specifically tell them you want this grounded back. Leaves no room for argument at the end.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

